FILE – On this April 2, 2019, file photograph, Utah Gov. Gary Herbert holds up S.B. 103, Sufferer Concentrating on Penalty Enhancements, after signing it into regulation in a public ceremony marking the moment Utah’s complete bill to stop hate crimes turned regulation at the Utah State Capitol Rotunda, in Salt Lake Metropolis. Lawmakers handed 574 payments this yr, setting a report, and most of these new legal guidelines will go into impact on Tuesday, Might 14, 2019, 60 days after the top of the brief legislative session.
SALT LAKE CITY
Starting Tuesday, individuals convicted of hate crimes could be topic to harsher punishment, 15-yr-olds can not be married and the state’s “stand your floor” regulation will get stronger.
Lawmakers passed 574 payments this yr, setting a report, and most of those new laws will go into impact on Tuesday, 60 days after the top of the brief legislative session.
Some intently watched modifications aren’t in effect yet. A measure allowing grocery shops to promote larger-alcohol beer will begin in November. Lawmakers additionally handed a ban on most abortions after 18 weeks of gestation, nevertheless it’s on hold as a courtroom challenge performs out.
Listed here are a few of the notable new legal guidelines that go into impact Tuesday: