TCU's Baker, UTA's Salinas on Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award watch li…

TCU junior infielder Luken Baker and Texas-Arlington senior outfielder/designated hitter Omar Salinas are two of the 25 players on the “watch list” for the the second annual Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award, which was announced Monday night.

Texas Tech’s Hunter Hargrove, a graduate of Mansfield High, won the inaugural baseball award, which is based on performance on the field, academics and personal integrity. Hargrove was selected in the 25th round of the Major League Baseball Draft by the Oakland Athletics last year.

Baker is a preseason All-American for the Horned Frogs, who are ranked No. 1 in the nation in all the major college baseball polls.

Salinas is a preseason all-Sun Belt Conference selection by the league coaches. The Arlington High graduate was also a first-team all-conference pick in 2017.

The BBCSA will announce the semifinalists in May. The winner will be announced in June followed by a gala in the fall.

The 25 players represent 18 schools.

Texas A&M, Baylor, Dallas Baptist University, UT-Rio Grande Valley, Sam Houston, Lamar and Rice each placed two players on the list. They were Richard Cunningham and Davis Wendzel of Baylor, Hunter Coleman…

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *